Minutes of the 2016 Annual Meeting of the South Dakota Horse Council.

The annual meeting of the South Dakota Horse Council was held April 23, 2016 at the Walstrom Room in the Animal Science Building on the SDSU Campus, Brookings, SD. The meeting was called to order by President Gene Carr at 1:25 p.m.

The minutes of the 2015 meeting were approved. Motion by Rich Waldner, seconded by Robin Mathison. Passed.

The treasurer's report was presented by Gene Carr in absence of the treasurer, Walter Schaefer. The balance on 3/31/16 was \$6,952.79. The following bills were presented:

Janice Cronin - pop, cookies, ice, spoons, bananas and stamps = \$65.

Mike Olson – Square one - \$109.81 for handouts; Town and Country Shopper \$84. Two ads; Mike – for pork loins \$258.07; Radio Station (Bkgs) \$120.00 estimate.

Doug Nickel moved to approved the report and the bills, seconded by Machelle Bonde, Passed.

Additional bills:

Clinicians – Joe Biren and Larry Insley - \$200 each

Robert Oien - mileage - \$50

Mike Johnson - \$50 (mules)

Sullivans - \$40

SDSU Horse Club - \$50

Mike Olson moved to approve the above; seconded by Janice Cronin, Passed.

Hold on the following: Arena Charge, and Bleachers cost unbilled as of meeting date.

Committee Reports:

Jo Waldner gave the legislative report and presented the American Horse Council list of current legislative issues.

Jo Waldner reported on the SDSU Scholarship sponsored by the South Dakota Horse Council; the 2015-2016 scholarships were awarded to Sidney Bierman, Aberdeen, SD, sophomore Animal Science student; and Sarah Bowen, Hastings, NE, a senior biology student (equestrian). The amount to be awarded in 2016-17 will be \$350 to each student.

Membership and Publicity – Mike Olson and Brandon Kinney reported on their publicity efforts on behalf of the driving clinic.

Sara Masteller reported on the KY Horse Council Newsletter. She offered to use the AHC information and put some information on Igrow. Brandon and Janice will update the website and facebook accounts with Driving Clinic donors, and report on the driving clinic.

Horseperson of the Year – Larry Larson was selected as the 2016 Horseperson of the year.

Old business: Bring final bills for the clinic and financial report to the May meeting. **New Business:** Bring ideas to the next meeting for the 2016-17 year. Election of Directors and Officers: Directors: Serving though 2018: **Doug Nickel** Walter Schaefer Mike Olson Robin Mathison Directors Serving through 2017: Gene Carr Jo Waldner Janice Cronin Richard Waldner Directors to serve though 2019: to be elected Richard Waldner moved to cast a unanimous ballot for Jessica Carr, Brandon Kinney and Machelle Bonde. Seconded by Robin. Passed. Fourth director to be selected and appointed. Mike Olson is to talk to Joe Rowe to ask him to become a director. He would be appointed at the next meeting. Brandon Kinney moved to cast a unanimous ballot for the present officers to continue their duties. Seconded by Richard Waldner. Passed. Next meeting scheduled for May 19 7:00 p.m. at Perkins Restaurant in Brookings. Meeting Adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

Notes: Joe Rowe has accepted the directorship and will attend the May meeting.